Home » Life » RADIO IS YOU

RADIO IS YOU

imagephoto credit: Tuvia Kings

Today is world radio day: an observance day held annually on 13 February. The theme for the 2017 edition of World Radio Day is “Radio is you!

What does radio mean to you?

This is a day set aside to celebrate radio as a medium; and encourage major networks and community radio to promote access to information, freedom of expression and gender equality over the airwaves. This is your chance to celebrate radio and how it helps shape our lives!

In my younger years, I used to thirst and hunger for an opportunity to air my views and reach wider audience. I would browse and research for contact details of some telecom companies, and each time I manage to speak to their front desk officers, I would plead for an opportunity to share my numerous quotes to their subscribers. Then, the negative feedback would make me retire to a state of sadness and hopelessness. I was so eager to have a great platform that could speak volumes.

Fast forward to 2016, I quit my job as a customer relationship manager and headed to a radio station to work as an intern. It wasn’t easy at first; going from a place of monthly pay check to a training ground, but that bold step changed my life completely. It was like being upfront with something supernatural. I would go into the studio, watch presenters communicate and reach out to great number of people instantly. Everything was magical.

So far, the journey has been profound in many ways. A lot of progress has been made. Through this medium, I have been able to express myself, discover myself the more, interact with others and above all, derive that satisfaction I’ve been dying for: Reaching out and impacting others positively. These I have done through content development, production of programmes and the opportunities I have to present on air.

Radio is undoubtedly one of the powerful tools in the world today. This medium has given people the opportunity to speak more boldly without fear or favor. I could proudly say that Radio gave me a voice, and has been a great communication tool that connects a lot of people to the world.

Happy world radio day. Use your voice and influence wisely!

One thought on “RADIO IS YOU

Leave a Reply

